Official Clonduff GAC Website


October 4th, 2019

Victorious Clonduff Team make it 3-in-a-row

Clonduff Senior Camogs had their All Ireland title on the line on Saturday afternoon 28th September, in the County Final in Drumaness against a very lively Portaferry side who lost out in last year’s final to The Yellas by a single point.

The sun shone down on the immaculate St Colman’s Park and the juvenile Camogs of Drumaness formed a guard of honour for the teams entering the field.

Player of the Match Sara Louise Graffin receives her award from Co Development Officer Paddy McGrath

Paula O’Hagan got the first score of the game from a free and this was quickly followed by a Sara Louise goal. Portaferry’s Niamh Mallon was in fine form and she kept her side in touch – the half time score was Clonduff 1-8 Portaferry 0-6 – not a big lead in terms of Camogie.

The second half was very much ‘even-Stephens’ until the final ten minutes when Clonduff pulled away. Both teams’ defences were very solid and the free-takers very much on their game. It was probably the Clonduff All Ireland experience that was the difference in the two teams.

Captain Fantastic Paula O’Hagan accepts the County Trophy for the 3rd year in a row (with Co Chair Helen Lambe)

Down Camogie Chairperson, Helen McAleavey (Clonduff) thanked both teams for a very sporting and entertaining game. She announced the ‘Player of the Match’ award – Sara Louise Graffin and it was presented by Paddy McGrath, Down Camogie Development Officer. Clonduff captain Paula O’Hagan then accepted the Cup on behalf of her team. In her acceptance speech she paid tribute to the gallant Portaferry team advising them to stay with it and with youth on their side their day was not far off. She also thanked her team-mates for the commitment they had given to training and likewise the management team of Damian Farnon, Alastair McGilligan and Aaron Graffin, without whose guidance they would never have made the three-in-a-row for the first time in the club’s history. She included the Drumaness Club and the match officials in her thanks

Erin Rafferty receiving Player of the Match Award in Ulster Final from Ulster Chair Jenny Caltra

Clonduff: Karen Haughey, Sarah Murphy, Nicola Elliott, Niohmi Murray, Erin Rafferty, Fionnuala Carr, Clare McGilligan, Beth Fitzpatrick, Cassie Fitzpatrick, Danielle Harrison, Paula Gribben (Capt), Clara Cowan, Katie McGilligan, Sara Louise Graffin, Orla Gribben; Subs used: Isabella O’Hare, Lauren Kane, Shannon O’Hagan, Leanne Quinn, Hannah McAteer; Other subs: Roisin McPolin, Caitlin Harper, Hannah Wilson, Ally Magee, Niamh Fitzpatrick, Molly Brown, Erin Lively, Ellen Lively, Orlaith McCusker, Aine Byrne, Niamh Murphy, Ciara Murphy.

The team went on to do back-to-back Intermediate Club Provincial titles defeating Eglish (Tyrone) for the second year in a row on a score of 2-12 to 1-11. Corner Back Erin Rafferty was awarded ‘Player of the Match’ in the Ulster Final which took place in Pearse Óg Park Armagh on Saturday 12th October 2019.

Our Sponsors

Mcgreevy Construction