Niamh McEvoy won Primary School Girls Competition

On a sun drenched Saturday afternoon, the annual Clonduff Poc Fada took place on the Hen Mountain with participants competing across 6 grades as part of Clonduff’s Summer Activity Programme.

A great competition took place in underage grades with boys and girls between the ages of 8 and 15 getting the Poc Fada off to a superb start alongside their nimble spotters following them on the mountain!

Sinead McPolin won U15 Girls Competition

It was then the turn of the senior ladies and men to take to the mountain with rock hard conditions providing a favourable bounce to the competitors.

The senior men were of course competing for the Pearce Branagan Cup and reigning champion with John Murphy determined to retain his title but a large contingent of hurlers were hoping to add their name to the Cup.

Eoghan Rooney won U12 Competition

In the U15 boys competition Lorcan Binks just edged out Ryan Tweedy while Eoghan Rooney secured the U12 hurling competition.

In the camogie Niamh McAvoy won the Primary school girls competition while Sinead McPolin came out on top for Secondary school girls

Lorcan Binks was U15 Boy’s Winner

In the Senior Ladies competition, versatile former Down and Clonduff camog Karen Gribben pipped Ciara Murphy and can now claim to have mastered the forward line, the goal line and now mountain terrain!

In the tightest competition of the day, Patrick Branagan Junior set a new course record to claim the Pearce Branagan Cup ahead of John Murphy by one stroke with his father Paddy Snr leading the rest of the chasing pack to claim an impressive third place.

Karen Haughey won the Senior Ladies Competition

Thanks to all involved in coordinating the event and to Tony and the Branagan family for presenting awards to all winners on the day.

Winners are listed below 🏆
Girls Primary
Niamh McAvoy- 22 Strikes
Girls Secondary
Sinead McPolin- 18 Strikes

Paddy Branagan won the Senior Men’s Competition

Boys U12

Eoghan Rooney- 21 Strikes
Boys U15
Lorcan Binks- 20 Strikes
Senior Ladies
Karen Haughey- 22 Strikes
Senior Men’s
Paddy Branagan Jnr- 14 Strikes (New Course Record)p