The Cowan Family with President Larry McCarthy, Club Officers and School Principal – Ella is 2nd right front row

The Gaels of Clonduff were honoured to have Uachtaran Cumann Lútchchleas Gael Larry McCarthy as the special Guest of Honour at their Annual Reunion and Awards in the Clubrooms on Friday evening 11th November, slightly past the 135th Anniversary of the founding of Clonduff GAA Club.

The proceedings began with the President meeting the Cowan Family and making a presentation to little Ella – A Croke Park Santa Experience for the entire family; The Club also made a presentation to Ella to help the family enjoy their outing to Croke Park.
On arrival, patrons were treated to a Drinks Reception before Club Chair Padraig Matthews welcomed everyone including County Chair John Devanney, County Camogie Chair Teresa Carr, County LGFA Vice Chair Mike Barnett, St Patrick’s PS Principal Mrs Geraldine Smith – and then invited Clonduff Scór Sinsir Singer Vivienne Mulcahy to Sing Amhrán na bhFiann and this was followed by a slideshow of activities and achievements in Clonduff throughout the year.

Mrs Bronagh McAlinden presents the PJ McAlinden Hall of Fame trophy to 2022 winner Desi Monaghan

Club President Fintan Mussen then introduced the ‘Hall of Fame’ Recipient Desi Monaghan who was presented with the PJ McAlinden Memorial Trophy by Mrs Bronagh McAlinden – Desi, accompanied by his children and grandchildren, wished it to be known that he dedicated the award to his late wife Christina.

Uachtarán McCarthy then addressed the gathering (he certainly had his homework done on Clonduff and said it was his first official visit to an event (other than a match) in Down.
Club Vice President Fr Charlie Byrne was invited to say ‘Grace’ before the meal was provided and served by ‘Diamonds’ Warrenpoint.
Check out @Clonduffgac FaceBook Page for lots more photos
By clonduffgac1887 Tue 15th Nov